Fifty States of New Recipe Tuesday – What happens when you work through the wrong state?

Welcome to week 30 of Fifty States of New Recipe Tuesday. This week was supposed to be the 30th state admitted to the union, which somehow in my mind was Wyoming.

It’s not.

It’s Wisconsin.

Wyoming is #44.

What really sucks about this is that I hated doing research on Wyoming, because it is one of those states that does not have an “official” food of any sort. Not a dish, dessert, pastry, soup, chili or otherwise.  But you know what? I did find a recipe and I did make it, so I am going to share it here with the hope that by the time I get to state #44, I will have actually found a true recipe for Wyoming, or at least a good story for the one I use.

The recipe I found was for Wyoming Pudding, which appeared in a book titled “Cooking in Wyoming /Woman’s Suffrage Centennial edition” [Prairie Publishing: Casper, WY] 1965. I don’t have the book, so I have no idea what the story is behind it, but since it had Wyoming in the name and it came from a book written in the state, I figured it was worth a try.

The recipe itself is very simple, with only a handful of ingredients, and the hardest task being the shredding of your apples. Start to finish takes under an hour.

The result is a sort of apple crisp looking for the crisp part. It has a slightly “gooey-ness” to the bottom and a whole lot of apple and sweetness. My first reaction was not to like it, but if you get the right forkful and a good helping of vanilla ice cream, it’s actually pretty tasty.

I am going to give this a B. Mostly because it just doesn’t have a good back story, and I am totally annoyed with myself for making a recipe for the wrong state. The good news is that I now know that Wyoming is a real challenge and I am going to invest in looking for this cookbook in the hope that it has something a little more hardy and worthy of my journey.

I will say that for dinner, I made a Bison Burger, because Wyoming is the land of buffalo and it’s where they filmed ‘Dances with Wolves’. It was pretty tasty, but not worth posting up a recipe. I promise when #44 comes up for real, I will put up something so much better all the way around.

For now, I have to get working on Wisconsin. They eat cheese there, right?

Recipe for Wyoming Pudding

Ingredients:

2 eggs, beaten
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup chopped nuts
2 cups grated tart apple

Directions:

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl in order given.
Pour into greased and floured 9 inch round cake pan. Bake at 350°F for 35 minutes.
Serve warm with ice cream or cool with whipped cream.

IMG_1743
Wyoming Pudding
Leave a Reply

