Ten Canadian Provinces of New Recipe Tuesday – Week Nine – Saskatchewan – Cabbage Roll (Golumpki) Casserole

Welcome to Week Nine of the Ten Canadian Provinces of New Recipe Tuesday! This week we explore the province of Saskatchewan, the final prairie province. I will admit that this week was a hard one. Saskatchewan is one of those places that does not necessarily have its own uniqueness in the culinary world, but it is known for something, and that is the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The history of this now famous Canadian law enforcement group dates back to the late 1800s, when parliament saw a need for a national police force to enforce the law in Canada’s newly acquired western territories. They were originally called the North West Mounted Police, and their role grew in importance as settlers moved into aboriginal territories. They were eventually renamed with the “Royal” title in 1904 by King Edward VII. Their headquarters and today’s training facilities are located in Regina, and their role within Canada includes organized crime, terrorism, illegal drugs, economic crimes and anything that threatens Canada’s national borders.

When I went looking for a recipe, I found that one area of culinary focus is the large Ukrainian population within the province. I am actually quite familiar with many of the dishes, including pierogies and golumpkis.  So this was a hard one, because I have made many of these dishes before. So difficult that I finally gave up! Yep. I got nothing.

But alas, I did make a dish that I love and perhaps it will be new to you. It takes the traditional cabbage roll, aka golumpki, and makes it into a weekday dish by eliminating the long effort to roll the cabbage and instead makes it into a casserole. All the ingredients are still there; you just combine everything together and bake it in a casserole dish. It is super simple and really delicious. I will give full credit of this recipe to my mother in law. Although she is French Canadian, she married a Polish man and learned how to make the dishes he liked. She made this for me many years ago and I got the recipe from her. Thanks mom.

cabbage-roll-casserole
Cabbage Roll (Golumpki) Casserole

I really hope you give this a try, and don’t think poorly of me that I did not make something new in my kitchen. Sometimes, there just isn’t enough to work with and you have to go to the family book for inspiration.

Thanks for stopping by. I am going to wrap up Canada with my missed week in New Brunswick, then on to something new. Thoughts on what to do next? Please share!

Cabbage Roll Casserole

Ingredients

  • 8 cups chopped cabbage
  • 2 cups cooked rice
  • 1 ½ lbs ground beef
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2-11 oz cans tomato soup
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°
  2. Bring a large pot of salted water to boil. Add the cabbage and par cook it for 5 minutes. Drain and return to the pot.
  3. In a large skillet, brown the meat and onion, draining off any excess fat when finished.
  4. Add the meat mixture, rice and soup to the cabbage and mix well. Season with salt and pepper.
  5. Pour the casserole mixture into a 9×13 pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

golumpki-casserole
Cabbage Roll Casserole
Leave a Reply

