Ten Canadian Provinces of New Recipe Tuesday – Week Ten – New Brunswick – Acadian Fish Cakes

Welcome to Week Ten of the Ten Canadian Provinces of New Recipe Tuesday! This is the final week for our friends to the north and I am actually glad to be done with this. As challenging as the US was, at least we are many and varied and spread out, which gave me the opportunity to explore some stuff about our great nation that was interesting and (at times) very different. Canada was kind of odd, in that it was more regional than province-centric, with lots of seafood on the coasts and grains and such in the middle. And although I did this in alphabetical order, I actually skipped New Brunswick. Not because it was special or unique in any way. In truth, I made the recipe and just never did the blog post. I know, totally lame. But I am back to make it right and finish Canada (because I am no quitter!).

New Brunswick is one of the three Maritime provinces (along with Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island), again showing you how Canada is regional in nature (remember the prairie provinces?). Surprisingly, it is the only province that is constitutionally bilingual; both English and French are spoken and accepted. More than a  third of the population is French speaking, which is a direct tie to the Acadian population; those people who descend from the earliest French settlers.

Some fun facts. New Brunswick has the highest tides in the world at the Bay of Fundy. They also have the world’s longest covered bridge. The Hartland Covered Bridge in Hartland NB is 1282 feet long and was considered an engineering marvel when it was built in 1901. New Brunswick also boasts that it is the creator of the ice cream cone. Legend has it that baker Walter Donnelly of Sussex Corner had created a bad batch of pastry that was too hard and crunchy. He took it next door to the local ice cream shop to see if they could use it, and the rest is history.

When I went looking for a recipe, I found that the Acadian people, the original French settlers are still very influence in the food of New Brunswick. One dish that I found along my journey, having ties to all the maritime provinces was for a dish called Acadian Fish Cakes. They are quite simple to make, and are basically a latke with some white fish added. They are served with applesauce.

acadian-fish-cake
New Brunswick Acadian Fish Cakes

I liked them, but no one else did. My son said they were ‘meh’ in flavor, which I expected since he is neither a potato nor a fish eater. I seriously wonder if any of my Irish blood runs through his veins! I did find that they lacked a whole lot of flavor, and that after cooking, they must be salted or they just taste bland. The applesauce is actually the perfect accompaniment as it adds a gentle sweetness and cuts through the heaviness of the potato. I can’t say that I would make them again, mostly because no one else would eat them, but I did think they were interesting and give the recipe an A for overall tastiness.

Thanks for stopping by. I will admit I am a little battle weary from the demands of a specific theme dish. I may go back to my random new recipes for a while and then float back to a theme. Either way, I will continue the journey and I hope you stick with me.

See you next time! Enjoy.

Acadian Fish Cakes

Ingredients

  • 1 pound fresh or frozen fish fillets (something white and flaky like sole or tilapia)
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups raw potatoes, finely grated
  • 1/8 cup flour
  • 1/8 cup onion, grated
  • 1 tbsp. fresh parsley, chopped
  • ½ tbsp. salt
  • Pinch of nutmeg
  • Pinch of pepper
  • Cooking oil
  • Applesauce

Directions

  1. Thaw fillets if necessary. Chop very finely.
  2. Combine all ingredients except oil and applesauce. Mix thoroughly.
  3. Heat ½” cooking oil in a large fry pan until very hot but not smoking. Drop 1/3 cup of mixture into pan and pat down with spatula. Fry 3 – 4 minutes or until golden brown. Turn carefully and fry another 3 – 4 minutes.
  4. Place on absorbent paper. Sprinkle with salt. Keep warm. Continue with remaining patties, adding more oil if needed.
  5. Serve with applesauce.

acadian-fish-cake2
New Bruswick Acadian Fish Cakes with Applesauce
Leave a Reply

