New Recipe Tuesday – Another TV Week – Meatball Curry

Welcome to week two of New Recipe Tuesday, No Theme! I still have not settled on any particular weekly theme, and I actually like the “anything goes” freedom of not having to search endlessly to find a dish that fits into a specific mold. I’m not in a real hurry to settle into a new path, so I hope you don’t mind a little randomness.

I am amused with myself that I am making another TV recipe this week. But I was really tired yesterday and needed something simple so Food Network came to my rescue. There really is nothing on that website that is complicated. There is one person on the network that I find interesting and that is Aarti Sequeira; a winner of Next Food Network Star several seasons ago. She is Indian and her recipes for curry dishes are usually pretty tasty. So that is where I went.

meatballcurry
Meatball Curry

I found a super simple recipe called Meatball Curry; a one pan dinner that comes together quick and has the coconut curry blend that I just love. The sauce in this dish is great. It is full of flavor, but not heavy with a nice balance of tomato and coconut. The meatballs were actually my least favorite part of the dish. Because they are just meat without a binder or breadcrumb, they are a bit lacking in texture and the 20 minute cooking time is too long and made them tough. They had decent flavor, but I would bump them up with even more heat and I might add a handful of fresh breadcrumbs and a little milk or egg to bolster them up.

Overall, I liked the dish, served with some rice. Since I liked the sauce, I would probably make it again, but perhaps play with the meatballs or even sub them out for some chicken. A good weeknight option.

Thanks for stopping by. I am thinking about my next theme (honestly) and am hoping to start up with something new next week. Maybe I will start pulling my many cookbooks off the shelf and make some of the recipes from all of them. That could be fun.  Stay tuned!

Meatball Curry

Ingredients

Meatballs:
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 green Serrano chile, minced
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh ginger
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro
  • Kosher salt
Curry:
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil or canola oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon brown or black mustard seeds
  • 4 shallots, thinly sliced (about 1 cup)
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
  • 2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 (14.5 oz can) petite diced tomatoes, preferably no salt added
  • 1 (14-ounce can) full-fat coconut milk
  • Kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro
  • 2 teaspoons lime juice (about half a lime)

Directions

  1. For the meatballs: In a large bowl, mix the ground beef, chile, ginger, cilantro and 1 teaspoon salt together using your hands until just combined. Roll into 16 meat balls (I use my 2 Tbsp cookie dough scoop and it gave me exactly 16 meatballs) Set aside.
  2. For the curry: In a large skillet over medium-high heat, warm the coconut oil until nearly smoking. Add the mustard seeds, covering the pan with a lid so you don’t get popping seeds all over you.
  3. When the spluttering subsides, add the shallots, garlic and ginger and cook until golden brown. Then add the ground coriander, cumin and cayenne pepper. Stir, and cook 30 seconds. Add the tomatoes and cook until they start to break down, about 5 minutes.
  4. Add the coconut milk, 1/2 cup of water, 1/2 teaspoon salt and bring to boil. Turn down to a simmer and add the meatballs. Simmer until the meatballs are cooked through, about 10 minutes, giving them a flip part way through for even cooking.
  5. To finish, add the cilantro and lime juice. Mix gently, and then taste for seasoning.
  6. Serve over rice.

meatball-curry
Meatball Curry
Leave a Reply

