New Recipe Tuesday – Really, it’s not political! – Obama’s Short Ribs

Welcome to New Recipe Tuesday! I am solidly planted in my no theme, theme, so my “anything goes” mentality is working for me and I hope you will continue to indulge me as I bounce around in my randomness. I am also deeply entrenched in a bit of procrastination, as I actually made a new recipe last week and never posted. And it was really good too! I am going to save that one for later in the week and I will post it for you all, because it is yummy and you need to make it.

But let’s not dwell. I did go searching for a recipe this week, and this one actually fell onto my Facebook feed yesterday with a title that was enough for me to investigate further. I follow the New York Times Cooking page on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and Instagram; yes, extraordinarily over killed. But I often find things on their pages that look really delicious and I would hate to miss something because it wasn’t on the app that I happened to be perusing that day. And when this one popped up, I clicked through to see what it was all about.

Obamas Short Ribs
Marcus Samuelsson’s “Obama’s Short Ribs”

The reason this dish is called Obama’s Short Ribs is because famed chef Marcus Samuelsson made them for the President when he visited his Red Rooster restaurant in Harlem. There is nothing more to it than that, so please do not think I am somehow making a statement here. They are very easy to make and the end result is a hearty dish with deep flavors that are different than any rib dish I have ever made. You can call them whatever you want, as long as you call them wonderful.

I am going to give full credit for this recipe to NYT Cooking and Marcus Samuelsson. I made no changes to this recipe except that the fresh lemongrass didn’t look good so I used the kind that comes in the tube that you can get in the produce department (Gourmet Garden brand). It was perfect as written; I wouldn’t fool around with it; just make it and enjoy it.

Thanks for stopping by. Seriously, give this one a try. You will be so happy you did. Enjoy and see you next week.

Obama’s Short Ribs

Ingredients

  • 8 (6-ounce) English-cut short ribs
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons grapeseed oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 carrot, trimmed and chopped
  • 2 celery ribs, trimmed and chopped
  • 1 lemongrass stalk, trimmed, smashed and minced (or about 1 ½ tablespoon of lemongrass paste)
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 (1-inch) piece ginger, peeled and minced (or about a tablespoon of ginger paste)
  • ½ cup dry red wine
  • 3 cups beef or chicken broth
  • ½ cup plum sauce
  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • 2 sprigs thyme
  • 2 sprigs flat-leaf parsley
  • 2 bay leaves

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 325 degrees. Pat meat dry with paper towels and season all over with salt and pepper.
  2. Heat grapeseed oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. When oil shimmers, add short ribs and brown on all sides, about 2 minutes per side; transfer to a plate.
  3. Add onion, carrot, celery, lemongrass, garlic and ginger to the pot. Season with salt and cook, stirring often, until onion softens, about 5 minutes. Pour in wine and cook, stirring to dissolve any of the brown bits that may still be on the bottom of the pot. Add broth, plum sauce, soy sauce, thyme, parsley and bay leaves and bring to a simmer.
  4. Return short ribs to pot, along with any juices, cover and slide pot into oven. Braise until meat is fork-tender, about 2 hours.
  5. Transfer meat to a plate. Strain braising liquid into a fat separator. If you don’t have a fat separator, use a ladle to skim the fat off the top of the braising liquid; then strain through a fine mesh sieve.
  6. Discard bay leaves and thyme stems and transfer vegetables to a food processor. Process vegetables until smooth, then add 1 1/2 cups of the defatted braising liquid to the processor and pulse to combine.
  7. Return sauce to Dutch oven and season to taste with salt and pepper. Add short ribs and turn to coat in the sauce.

Obama's Short Ribs
Marcus Samuelsson’s “Obama’s Short Ribs”

 

Leave a Reply

